Saturday, July 12, 2008

Voting Begins For 2008 Science Idol Editorial Cartoon Contest

Voting Begins For 2008 Science Idol Editorial Cartoon Contest
July 10 2008
Artists draw attention to political interference in science

The Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS) today announced the 12 finalists in its third annual Science Idol: Scientific Integrity Editorial Cartoon Contest.

About Science Day 2008 Science Idol Finalists

Now, it's the public's turn to vote.

UCS received hundreds of cartoon entries from artists of all ages across the country who used humor to shed light on a serious issue: the distortion, suppression and manipulation of federal science. A panel of award-winning cartoonists helped UCS narrow down the entries to the 12 that will appear in the 2009 UCS scientific integrity calendar. The celebrity judges were: Dave Coverly, the creator of "Speed Bump;" Wiley Miller, the creator of "Non Sequitur;" Kevin Kallaugher (Kal), editorial cartoonist at the Economist; Mike Keefe, editorial cartoonist at the Denver Post; Signe Wilkinson, the Pulitzer prize-winning editorial cartoonist at the Philadelphia Daily News; and Jesse Springer, winner of last year's Science Idol contest.

People can vote for their favorite cartoon today through August 8 at All participants have the chance to win copies of the 2009 calendar.

Besides having the winning cartoon featured on the cover of the 2009 Scientific Integrity Calendar, the top cartoonist will receive a $500 prize, an all-expenses paid trip to Washington, D.C., and a signed copy of Kevin Kallaugher's book, "Kal Draws Criticism."

No comments: